ADF and NCDF with Defero Dance Collective

As well intentioned as I have been to keep my blog updated, my life has been increasingly busy with wonderfully challenging things.  My last post was about two years ago, and I haven’t posted anything since moving from Italy.  The day I landed stateside, I threw myself into two North Carolina state dance festivals that has consumed most of my artistic time and energy.

IMG_20141101_135623995

In early 2014, I was selected as a North Carolina Dance Festival Touring Artist for the 2014-2015 season.  An honor that I was so happy to receive because the opportunity lead me to meet and work with a fabulous dance company, Defero Dance Collective, based in Raleigh, North Carolina.

DDactionshot4

As a dance artist with many years of experience, I can say that this collaboration has been one of such unique and favorable circumstances.  Not only is Defero Dance Collective an exceptional group of dancers, they are one of the most kind, loving, and welcoming group of women I’ve ever encountered.  It is rare to find a company that knows one another so well, physically and personally, but also has the great maturity and courageous femininity to love themselves and each other in the most binding way. Fate smiled on me when I found them.

Since June 2014, we have collaborated on two works.  I reset As We Are on Defero, and we toured the 10 minute work to UNC Charolotte, Appalachian State, Duke, and University of North Carolina Greensboro during the 2014-2015 season.  In early 2015, my work [ME]thod was selected for the American Dance Festival’s Here and Now program on June 25th, 2015. We worked quickly to reset the 15 minute work and enjoyed presenting the work with a rich and diverse program at ADF.

IMG_1801.JPG

2014 and 2015 have been very fulfilling and busy years in dance, and I look forward to another collaborative project with Defero Dance Collective in 2016! Thanks Defero for all your hard work and helping me make these project happen!

Leave a Reply

